Lessons from the Lunge Line(2):Finding your Center and Enthusiasm!

Screenshot_2014-03-10-08-49-15[1]

Saturday, I once again had the opportunity of volunteering at Mounted Ministries. This little girl, Caroline, and I began the day by taking each horse’s weight. We across the pastures and found each horse. Caroline groomed while I took the measurements. She told me about everything that has happened in her 10 year old life and I was thoroughly engaged. She reminded me of myself as she proceeded to describe every horse in the pasture and as she pointed out different techniques and ideas she had learned from a horse book at home. I asked her if she liked to read and she replied “I like to read about horses”.
After we measured, Caroline and I got to help Mr. Bob with the gates. Mr. Bob transported us to each gate via gator and I could not help, but reminisce of times when I spent riding around in Roe Todd’s gator. It was almost as if life had come back around and I had to remind myself that I was in South Carolina.
After that, I grabbed the lunge line and Smokey and we began lunging again. This time, Cathy took the barrel away therefore; there was no dependence on anything. I had to learn how to stand center. Instantly, I began chasing Smokey within the circle and I did not have control. I would be ahead and he would not understand my cues. Naturally this is frustrating because we want to be understood. Smokey just wanted me to back up and stay in the center of the circle. After Cathy came over and displayed how to stay in the center and explained that I should not “chase my horse”, Smokey and I progressed. Soon after though, Smokey was not paying attention to me anymore. I had a difficult time asking him to transition. I would ask Smokey, but instead of waiting for his response I initially just kept asking. I gave him no time to react. After all of the asking, he barely would transition into a trot, but Cathy came to help. She explained that you ask and then demand. Cathy took Smokey, asked him to trot, waited for his response, and then demanded as she snapped the whip on the ground.
“Put enthusiasm into it! Put your energy into it!”
I finally pieced these techniques together somewhat! Smokey began transitioning on the first cue and I stayed center! I would say that was a win for the day; though, I still have much to learn. Hopefully, Smokey won’t give up on me. 🙂

There are a couple of ideas that pondered around in my brain as all of this was taking place. Lessons to be learned were evident.

1. Where’s your center? Where’s your focus? Are you “chasing” everything and not hearing God’s cues? I often feel like in life that I can easily lose my focus on my center, God. When this happens, I become frustrated and lost. I begin chasing after materialistic items that ultimately have no true value. Though, I have found that when I reevaluate who I am in Christ and put Him back at the center of my focus, I am less stressed and my perspective is clear. My to-do list is not as near as important as God’s.
Psalm 28:7
The Lord is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.
Matthew 6:33

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

2. Enthusiasm and energy. I was standing at the end of a rope with a magnificent 900 pound animal and expecting him to respond to my quiet 100 pound voice. That’s ridiculous on my part. We need more energy in our lives. We need more enthusiasm. When you wake in the morning do you leap from your bed with excitement in your heart or do you roll onto the floor and try to convince yourself you don’t actually have to get out of bed today? I know it’s difficult to choose over and over every single day to be excited, but I believe that we were created to have joy in our hearts. We serve an incredible, merciful, loving God! Every day of our lives we have the opportunity to approach the day with enthusiasm and we have the chance to make a difference to someone through Christ. Christ saved us and we should be shouting our excitement! Our thankfulness! We are too blessed to be moping around and dreading our days. We will not get the world’s attention by giving half our hearts and whispering. Take off in the race of your life and scream from the top of your lungs. Let’s allow our strengths override our weaknesses! Let’s permit our happiness defeat our depression! Let’s make other people enthusiastic! Let’s take a stand for God and be bold!
Ephesians 6:7
Work with enthusiasm, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.
1 Corinthians 9:24
Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control,lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.

Get excited for your life!

 

Leave a Reply

