FFA Lessons: “Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.” — Benjamin Franklin

931339_596805627011063_1495954100_n 181455_376914869021147_786637906_n  421189_602970853061207_502160457_n

 FFA taught me that other people can serve as mentors and guide you along the path you should walk. I was blessed with incredible advisers that give their all to their students. These mentors push us when we want to quit, whether it is in class or a competition. They provide understanding, from welding terminology to life lessons. They inspire us to ask more questions and to tap into the potential we did not even know we had. Agricultural education teachers reach their students by connecting them with their everyday world. Our eyes are opened and our hands are put to work as we grow into individuals who are capable of standing on our own, but I know that this journey would not have been possible if it were not for my advisers.  I am thankful for my advisers who did not let me quit when all I wanted to do was hide. They showed me that planning is essential in reaching one’s goals.  Advisers that encouraged us to learn the hard skills to obtain the position we want, but to develop the soft skills to go farther than just knowledge of material. These mentors are some of the first and sometimes only people, who tell us “you can do it”. They have an ability to recognize the unrecognizable. From traveling many miles to taking to us where we need to be to staying after school many hours to help us with projects, the teachers are dedicated down to the last moment.

Leave a Reply

