Don’t Swat! Save the Bees!

IMG_6018[1]

“Nothing can trouble, nothing can distress,

Here, where bees are humming songs of 

Happiness.”- Josephine Morse

       The first time I considered bees more than just honey and a painful sting, I was in 8th grade and I heard someone mention that bees were valuable to us, but they were in danger. I knew bees were involved in pollination, but I had no idea the extent to of which they provide food for us. We are DEPENDENT on bees for 1/3 of our food supply; therefore, if bees are dying out then our grocery stores are going to look empty and bare.

In all seriousness, It is kind of a global crisis.

We need bees or life could be rough for us, so I have made it a point to not a kill a pesky bee that comes my way.

In this realization, many people have taken up beekeeping for profit or just as a hobby! People enjoy watching their beehives grow and produce the delicious honey, plus they are fighting back the bee decline! Save the bees and eat! I have personally gained an interest in the beautiful western honey bee, Apis mellifera, and signed up for a beekeeping course on Saturday mornings!

Yes, in about a month I will be a certified beekeeper and a member of the Pickens County Beekeepers Association and the State Association. 

Never in my life would have imagined those words coming out of my mouth.

I have been exposed to the wonderful world of honey bees and I am hooked. Let me share some facts about these fascinating guys!

Regardless of past perceptions, bees ARE NOT naturally aggressive- they are defensive. That means be careful if you have bees because I mean you do not want someone coming into your home and robbing you of all your honey either! 

Breed for gentleness, honey, and pollination, beekeepers!

If you label your beehives then bees know which home is theirs and will not get confused 🙂 Bees are able to distinguish the difference if marked.

Bees do not really sleep.

Bees have health insurance set up in their colonies. If bees are sick or getting old then the healthy bees just get rid of them…

If you go to check your bees, do not wear for dark clothes. Why? Because bees’ natural predators are bears and skunks.

To help the bees, look into planting bee-friendly plants! The smallest acts can make a difference!

There are your bee facts for the week! I am thrilled for this week’s course! We get to go out to the honey bee farm!

Sources: Bee Well Honey Farm

              “First Lessons in Beekeeping” By Keith S. Delaplane

               Pickens County Beekeepers Association

Leave a Reply

