Jesus> Religion:Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More Than, And Being Good Enough

51pVPLMxfILOne of my friends recommended this book and my curiosity was sparked when I saw the “Jesus >Religion” and the fact that the author is in his early 20’s! I picked it up and finished it in a day. 

It was that good and incredibly honest. This is not a self-help Christian book that is soft and kind. This is a book that is blunt, honest, and may even call you out on a few things. This book lays it out very clearly that when you discover Jesus and you build a relationship then it is not about rules you follow. It is about God and how you transform and your behaviors change. You are new creation therefore, you behave in a new way. You are no longer of the flesh, but a child of the living God! This book lays it out that it is not our good deeds and good behavior that gets us into heaven. It is God’s love. The author is honest and real about his mistakes and sins. He makes it clear how vulnerable we actually are. It felt amazing to read something that was just real. It was clear. It even made me a little mad. It challenges your thinking.

This a great read that I highly recommend.

Favorite quotes:

“The Bible isn’t a rule book. It’s a love letter. I’m not an employee. I’m a child. It’s not about my performance. It’s about Jesus’ performance for me. Grace isn’t there for some future me but for the real me. The me who struggled. The me who was messy. ….. He loves me in my mess; he was not waiting until I cleaned myself up.” 
“I realized we had created a Jesus who’s safe for the whole family. But if we were honest, we’d ask, how is a homeless dude who was murdered on a cross for saying he was God safe for the whole family? Not to mention that Paul told us if we choose to follow his example as a follower of Jesus, we will be treated the way that he was.” 
“How stupid would it look if when someone broke a hand, the foot started criticizing the hand? That what we look like when Christians begin to criticize the church. One part of the body should lead itself to the healing process of another hurting member. That’s love. That’s the gospel. And that is Jesus.” 
Leave a Reply

