The Traveler’s Gift by Andy Andrews

         56466

The Traveler’s Gift is a book that takes the reader on a journey of self-discovery with the use of historical context and spiritual references. It took me a long time to pick up this book and actually dedicate to reading it for reasons unknown, but when I did, I COULD NOT put it down. I began it on the plane ride to Texas on Wednesday and finished it in the deer blind on Friday. It caught my attention and kept it because it tells a story of an ordinary man, David Ponder, who is doing the best he can, but ends up losing it all. David, confused, wonders what he could possibly be doing wrong. Miraculously, he travels back in time, after his car accident, and proceeds to meet with historical figures who share incredible life lessons. Ponder, then journeys to the future and catches a glimpse of his. Does he take the advice he has been given and transforms his life? Can he change the world? It is a simple read and it is not exactly filled with extraordinary plot twists, but I believe that it is part of the reason why I enjoyed it to the extent that I did. The book relates to real life and real questions we ask ourselves. This book inquires the hard question and delivers the hard answers. It ends with the self-realization that maybe…. The choice actually is in our hands. “If you can fight that hard for your life, then surely I can fight as hard for your future!”

I love how this book stepped into the mind of Abraham Lincoln, Solomon, and even Anne Frank. It allows perspectives from brilliant people to have an impact on yours. It’s an awesome fiction tale with great truth.

Seven key decisions are revealed to David Ponder in this life-altering adventure:

  1. The buck stops here.
  2. I will seek wisdom.
  3. I am a person of action.
  4. I have a decided heart.
  5. Today I will choose to be happy.
  6. I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit.
  7. I will persist without exception.

My notes and favorites from the Traveler’s Gift!

The buck stop here:

Accept responsibility for your past, present, and future.

God gave me the ability to make a decision and then make it right.

My life won’t be an apology. It will be a statement.

I control my thoughts and emotions.

I will seek wisdom:

I will actively seek wisdom.

I will train my eyes and ears of good quality.

Throw away the materials that feed your doubts and fears, including peers!

If I associate with eagles, I will learn to soar.

My destiny is to fly.

I will listen to wise counsel.

A wise man will cultivate a servant’s spirit.

Do not look for someone to open you door; go and open someone else’s door.

I am a person of action:

New me –> New future

My future is IMMEDIATE

I will always choose to act and seize the moment.

Laziness is a sin. I will create a habit of lively behavior.

Spring in my step and a smile on my face!

He has given me a healthy mind to gather and sort information and the courage to come to a conclusion.

Successful people make decisions quickly and change their mind slowly

I have a decided heart:

No more shuffling left and right

Opinions are creatures of the wind; your vision is a rock.

I will be happily exhausted.

I will never apologize for my dream

I do not procrastinate

Today I will choose to be happy:

Happiness is a choice.

I will greet each day with laughter.

Laughter represents enthusiasm- enthusiasm fuels the world!

Smile first 🙂

I am the possessor of a grateful spirit.

I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit:

Forgiveness has value only when given away.

Accept the apologies you never got.

Slavery in any form is wrong and the person who lives a life according to the opinion of others is a slave.

I am not a slave.

Those who are critical of my goals and dreams do not understand the higher purpose to which I have been called. Therefore, their scorn does not affect my attitude or action. I forgive their lack of vision and I forge ahead.

Every mistake, miscalculation, and every stumble I replay over, but today, I forgive myself.

I will persist without expectation:

I have the power of choice.

I will no longer live in a dimension of distraction.

I stay the course, I do not quit.

I will continue despite exhaustion.

I am not “most people”

Average people compare themselves. I compare myself to my potential.

The question of “how long?” doesn’t matter. I focus on results.

I expect miracles.

Leave a Reply

