And Now A Word From Our Students

“Personal Growth: As a member of an AG ED class, you’re not doing it right if you don’t grow and mature as a person. You must take responsibility for your actions and learn to think ahead, which ultimately helps you mature. You also must become a leader, you must be willing to take charge when necessary, or to listen to whomever is in the leadership roll, while not being afraid to voice your opinion.

Premier Leadership: FFA/AG ED not only reunites leadership, but demands leadership from each individual. I mean for crying out loud, FFA is the largest student ran organization in the world. Can’t get there by twiddling your thumbs.

Career Success: No matter what field you go into, I can guarantee that you can find a way to apply what you learned in AG ED classes. You may have car problems one day and oh wait you learned how to fix that in AG class. You may have to build a shelf for your office. Who knows what else. So far every job I’ve had I use what I learned in AG class. It my even be as simple as your work ethic.” -Ethan Franks

“Agriscience education was the most influential class in my high school career. Sure the core classes like math science and English were great for preparing me for college but Ag Ed gave me a passion. Not many students find a passion sitting in a classroom and copying problems in a notebook. I found my passion talking to Ag Ed teachers and digging in dirt and, yes, even a cows stomach. But even though that’s what grew my passion it’s not why it’s so important to my life. It’s important to my life because I know the impact it gives students. According to dosomething.org every 26 seconds a student drops out of high school. The U.S. ranks 22nd out of 27 developed countries in dropout rates. These numbers are disastrous to our country. But Ag Ed and other Career Tech classes are here to help. According to ACTE (The Association for Career and Technical Education) students that are at high risk of dropping out of high school are eight to ten times less likely to drop out of high school if they are involved in a Career Tech program. Also according to ACTE 6 out of 10 students at high risk of dropping out said they were not motivated to succeed. Of those students, more than 90% said they would be more engaged in their education if classes helped them acquire skills and knowledge relevant to future careers. So Ag Ed classes are not just about cows plows and sows. They’re about saving America’s future. Turning down Ag Ed and other career tech classes is turning away on the opportunities that many teenagers need to succeed in life!” -Luke Knight

“I’m going to be a creed speaker in FFA

and follow my dreams.” – Rachel Sullivan

“You have really inspired me with FFA” –Raybon Cornelius

“Through FFA I learned how to speak in front of people, how to present workshops, how to respect diversity, and most of all how to be a leader and follower at the same time. Agricultural education and the three circle model that runs it have tremendously affected my life. It promotes personal growth, career success, and premier leadership. As for personal growth in my life through agricultural education, I have learned that no matter who you are and where you come from you should always stand tall with your beliefs, and don’t be afraid to show the true you. For career success, I’ve learned to never give up on your career dream, and as far as premier leadership goes I’m certain that because of the situations thrown at me in the class I can now handle any situation thrown at me with my leadership skills. I can now talk in front of the smallest or largest groups of people and even present an idea easier than most can. It is said that there are more people scared of public speaking than death; basically more people would rather be in the casket than giving the eulogy. Taking agricultural education classes has prepared me for my future career, made me realize how great it is to live a life a service, and how to be a leader even if it requires being a follower at the same time. “- Kristin Bishop

Leave a Reply

